December 20
We are finally somewhat settled. After living in one room hotels/villas for the past 5 weeks we made our way into Southern Thailand to a place called Ao Nang, Krabi, Thailand. We are not worried about being affected by the issues in Thailand at the moment. We found a really great three bedroom house in this ‘little desperate housewives’ sort of community. I am so pleased to be able to give Sydney her own room for a bit and to have a kitchen and eating area with a living room. It seems silly but I miss not being able to just make Sydney what she wants and to let her just play for a bit. There is no pool but the beach is just 5 minutes by motorbike away...and this seems great too. I don't think that we are really going to do anything for Christmas; perhaps Rich and I will share a laugh as we have a beer on the beach and toast December 25 and then say a little prayer as to how lucky we all are.
December 22
We are happily getting settled into our home just outside of Ao Nang, Krabi, Thailand. We are 1 km away from the beach and Sydney just loves the sea shells. The surf is broken by a coral reef making it safe for us to wander all over even to other limestone cliffs (when the tide is out) and the water is warm.
Sydney finally slept through the night and Sean is being sleep trained :( ...
But he did only wake up one time last night and the I bolted into his room and rubbed his belly for about 10 minutes well, maybe longer but I DIDN'T pick him up. Sydney is sleeping through the night because she really wants Sean to sleep in her room. I think these two may end up sharing a room in the end-Sydney is so SO keen on it.
Sydney and I have come down with some sort of stubborn cough which hits us at night and seems to keep Richy awake.
We went to the beach yesterday and Sydney was given a gift of buckets and shovels by a Swiss family that was leaving Thailand. Sydney was in heaven. She is a builder by nature but when I turned my back she pissed a few older kids off by tearing down their sand castle. oops.
She is almost potty trained but we did have our one shitty story that will go down in Sydney-kid folklore. We took her to the big grocery store in Krabbi town and at this mall is a kiddie play park where the kids can take off their shoes and play on all these foamy colorful apparatus things. Sydney was not wearing a diaper and to Rich's complete embarrassment and dismay the staff asked that the white kid pleased be removed as she had left a big poo right on the stairs. . . I was shopping for groceries (thank god) and Rich came up all sweaty and red with Sydney wearing no bottoms. We grabbed something from the shelf and put it on. Since then Sydney has pooped in the potty every time; she was heartbroken over not being able to finish her play in the park.
Tonight we go to the night market for some food, food and more food. Yesterday, Rich bought a pair of runners as he needs to run in order to make up for the consumption of food and BEER. But it is so good.
Sean has found a food he loves...roasted squash with sweet coconut milk. The coconut milk is sweet but also slightly salty. We are in heaven...

1 comment:
Hi Guys,
I'm glad you are established in Thailand as I was beginning to get a bit concerned because the paucity of postings on your blog during the political turmoil in Thailand.
Liz and I were discussing how cool it is that we can follow each others' trips online like this. We'd love to see more pictures though particularly of Richard in his bathing suit.
It's interesting some of the attitudes we are encountering by Americans about Mexicans and our trip to their country. Most of them warn us and shake their heads at the very idea of going there for 6 months. Funny how those attitudes become stronger as we get closer to the border. We wonder if you have encountered some of the same issues.
Happy travels and please send us a photo of an elephant!!
Remy and Liz
Post a Comment