Wednesday, December 31, 2008

Day 33 - 40





Ummm ….we have missed a few days but perhaps that is an indication that our trip was either really crazy and we had limited time or that we are finding a nice groove.  We are happy to write that it is has been a bit of both. 

We flew into Krabi International Airport on December 13 and even as we flew North West we both felt like the next leg was going to be good.  Rich and I both felt that there was  a nice energy about this place.  When we landed Sydney was in her glory to see “kids!  Mommy, I see kids!!” The two boys were burning off energy and running around the customs area so we figured ‘when in Thailand…” We let her go and she went for the gusto.  It was nice to see her running and playing with two other kids. 

Eventually we made it through customs; this time we took our sweet time and asked a few questions, made sure we were in the clear and eventually came out dead last, our luggage was being tagged and there was no one around ---fantastic! 

Of course the kicker was we had NO FREAKIN idea where we going to stay…not one single idea.  We walked out into the heat and right away bartered for a private cab to Ao Nang went from 600 baht to 450 baht.  The poor driver had no idea what he was getting himself into.  We drove and drove and drove and went to a few places. After some desperation we began to sweat a bit wondering where exactly we were going to stay.  I ended up walking and lugging Sydney down an old path that I once went on to search out a place.  Long story short we paid way to much for a complete dive.  The rain started and we both wondered “what the hell…” Rich went on a business trip…d-e-t-e-r-m-i-n-e-d …I stayed with two kids in a small dump of a room but hell, it came with a balcony. We went onto the balcony which faced a few other apartments.  To which I soon discovered had pools and were charging way, way…way less.  Piss me off.

Rich came back, told me to pack up and we were outta there.  I have never packed so fast in my life.

Rich found us a wee bit of paradise at the Queens Pavillion.  Amazing view of the limestone cliffs and three beautiful serenity pools.  A steal of deal because we have discovered that Ao Nang, thee place to be for holiday makers is very slow! 

Rich and I settled into our posh little place and madly got to work looking for a home base.  Three days later we found a three bedroom brand new home 1 k from the beach.  We rented a scooter and are calling this home until February 11 - we have a spare bedroom not being used but have found one taker for several days - Marc and Maria previously planned on coming to Thailand with Maria's sister - chances are they will stay with us for a few days before heading out to discover Thailand.  

For anyone daring enough - we have a spare room - cold beer is waiting for you in the fridge...

1 comment:

Jamie Leong-Huxley said...

Happy new years Huxley-Veldhoens from the Skinner-Leong-Huxleys in Orlando, Florida. We've been here for two glorious weeks of 80+ weather and fun and sun with Mickey and Shamu. Started the week before that, just Tim and I, in Washington, DC for lunch with the Obamas. It was definitely a cool place. Thanks for sharing all the fun stories...we've enjoyed the photos and your descriptions have been fantastic -- we can picture everything you're saying. Hope that "home base" is great and am sad that we won't get there to take up that spare room. Much love!!!