Lets be frank….Rich has been adjusting a wee bit easier than Tara (surprise, surprise). . . I on the other hand typed my sister a rather shitty note about shitty ants, shitty gecko poop and in general slightly on the edge of a rather shitty attitude. But enough with the crap. Sometimes a girls just gotta vent and though I feel blessed and so lucky to be here, I have had my moments. Blame it on the heat or the humidity or the ???
On other home away from home news… we are discovering that the economy here is hitting the tank a bit; while this is crappy news for locals it is proving to be a bit of a blessing for us as we are getting about 10000 rh per buck so this translates into having a good pizza and a beer for about 2.75 to 3.50 or nasi goring for .75. We are asking ourselves if it can really be cheaper in Thailand.
While walking on the street we have seen a bit of the darker side of life here (and we now that we have not touched the surface). But , it seems that one tribe on the outskirts of town will send in mothers with their wee babies to beg for money. Geez…. So sad, but if you give them anything they will follow you around. This is nothing compared to some things that we have heard of. . . .
Yesterday (day 8) was a rather quiet day for me and the kids. We had intentions of making about 10 blocks down the road to the monkey forest, but truthfully, if you don’t get your ass out of the door by 7:30 it seriously gets so hot that you barely make it 4 blocks down before you are dripping with sweat and craving a dip in the pool—which is exactly what happened—but not before I FINALLY got a hat (or three) and a popsicle for Syd the kid. We did a few pit stops and saw some incredible wood art as the pictures would indicate. Incredible.
The kids and I had a slumber and Rich took of by foot to walk for two hours to the rice patties as well as being picked up the way back.
We ended our night with a roof top dinner.
All in all it was a rather routine like day and this was good as it got me into the groove that believe it or not folks I crave…yep …me…. Ahh the learnings.
I did go out last night for a beer with a few women that I know; their kids are all grown up and they come out here year after year. I just couldn’t keep up and after one beer and a forceful reggae dance I had to leave. Having kids just so makes me appreciate going to bed early. There is a place down the road that plays live soft easy jazz on Mondays, now that is my kind of place.

3 comments:
Sure! Keep us waiting for 5 days since the last blog and then bombard us! Kinda freaked me out that you weren't posting! So good to read an update and to know you're settling into a routine. There is comfort in routine. xoxo Naomi
Yeah, listen to Noami, don't wait that long again to post. We were going to send out the RCMP search party.
and... Tara, get Richard to brush his teeth.
and.... send money, please,
Miss you guys, love
Opa and Oma
hey dudes, just finished reading your last entry. i'm happy for both of you. a once in a lifetime adventure for you and your kidlets. awsome !!!! also, thanks for this blog idea ... i'm going to set it up for kim and i while in new zealand ... wish we could be there with your for christmas. c'est la vie ... it is as it is. miss you ! cheers.
Post a Comment