Friday, November 28, 2008

Day 10 & 11

Day 10

Very routine.

Walk down the street

Grab a popsicle for Syd the kid

Nap for Sean

Etc….

 

Day 11

Again…ummm what did we do? 

Imagine this ….

Monkey Forest Road is one of the few roads blessed with sidewalks; we gave up on the stroller about five days ago.  Sydney is finding her own ‘travel legs’ and she is determined as ever to not hold hands and run onwards.  Problem:  Scooters and motorcycles drive wherever they please (which also include the sidewalk if need be), so I am constantly on guard and I very much feel like a mother goose chasing her young, nipping her in the butt to herd her here and there. . .

I also have to mention that while this street is one of the few with sidewalks—I have never seen such a helter-skelter set up.  There is no uniformity to them and I am not being a princess when I say that the sidewalks can be just as treacherous to walk then the road…complete ups and downs, construction supplies piles wherever, scooter as mentioned.  I need to get a picture of this…

Anyway, on with the story.

Rich and I and the kids are walking on one side of the road (on the sidewalk); Sydney is running and trips, lands on her knees and hands and the crying begins.

Another father is walking by on the other side of the busy street carrying his two year old.  He stops to see our ‘scene’, we notice him for some reason watching us.  We all seem to share a moment of “WTF” are these sidewalks all about.  He yells across…”You should sue…You should sue” with humour in his voice. 

We  yell across, “What, are you from the States?”

He yells back, “ya,  you must be from Canada.”

And we moved on. . . that was it…no other talking just a shared moment.

Rich and I looked at each other and wondered out loud, how did he know we were from Canada?? 

Not sure we want the answer  :)

Saturday, November 22, 2008

Why no photo's you ask?????

Well, the story is the WiFi here is very, and I mean VERY, slow.  I have waited up to five minutes (a feat in and of itself for a self professed ADD individual) for an image to upload.  I have tried e-mailing people pictures with the hope uploads would be more efficient via e-mail (yes, not logical, desperation calls for trying ANYTHING).  Soooo...I will keep trying and hopefully I will find a business capable of uploading some images... 


Day 8 & 9

Lets be frank….Rich has been adjusting a wee bit easier than Tara (surprise, surprise). . . I on the other hand  typed my sister a rather shitty note about shitty ants, shitty gecko poop and in general slightly on  the edge of  a rather shitty attitude.  But enough with the crap.  Sometimes a girls just gotta vent and though I feel blessed and so lucky to be here, I have had my moments.  Blame it on the heat or the humidity or the ??? 

 

On other home away from home news… we are discovering that the economy here is hitting the tank a bit; while this is crappy news for locals it is proving to be a bit of a blessing for us as we are getting about 10000 rh per buck so this translates into having a good pizza and a beer for about 2.75 to 3.50 or nasi goring for .75.  We are asking ourselves if it can really be cheaper in Thailand.  

 

While walking on the street we have seen a bit of the darker side of life here (and we  now that we have not touched the surface).  But , it seems that one tribe on the outskirts of town will send in mothers with their wee babies to beg for money.  Geez…. So sad, but if you give them anything they will follow you around.  This is nothing compared to some things that we have heard of. . . .

 

Yesterday (day 8) was a rather quiet day for me and the kids.  We had intentions of making about 10 blocks down the road to the monkey forest, but truthfully, if you don’t get your ass out of the door by 7:30 it seriously gets so hot that you barely make it 4 blocks down before you are dripping with sweat and craving a dip in the pool—which is exactly what happened—but not before I FINALLY got a hat (or three) and a popsicle for Syd the kid.   We did a few pit stops and saw some incredible wood art as the pictures would indicate.  Incredible. 

 

The kids and I had a slumber and Rich took of by foot to walk for two hours to the rice patties as well as being picked up the way back. 

We ended our night with a roof top dinner. 

All in all it was a rather routine like day and this was good as it got me into the groove that believe it or not folks I crave…yep …me…. Ahh the learnings. 

 

I did go out last night for a beer with a few women that I know; their kids are all grown up and they come out here year after year.  I just couldn’t keep up and after one beer and a forceful reggae dance I had to leave.  Having kids just so makes me appreciate going to bed early.  There is a place down the road that plays live soft easy jazz on Mondays, now that is my kind of place. 

Day 6 & 7

Day 6 & 7

Not too much to report really.  We went to the monkey forest early in the morning when no one else was around. The good news – we didn’t have to pay.  The bad news – we were seriously outnumbered by monkeys.  I’m not talking like a couple dozen monkeys…I’m talking hundreds.  They were crawling around the tree’s, on the ground and on the sidewalk.  The sidewalk was the interesting part.  Tara and I weren’t sure what to expect in terms of how they would react to us passing by them.  Are the territorial?  Are they so accustomed to humans they will jump on you?  We were forewarned not to bring food or sunglasses as they might steal both off your person.  Needless to say the warnings only intensified our fears.  So, you may ask, what did you do Richie Rich, oh fearless one?  Did you push thru onwards past the little monkeys?  Did you explore the beautiful tropical forest and awe at it’s natural beauty?  Did you scoff at the warnings for the weary????  Well, hate to say it but…no…me McScradey cat…and Tara, might I add, was not arguing in favour of staying.  We left after traveling all of 200 meters thru the forest.  In case anyone is wandering, Sydney loved looking at the monkeys and didn’t understand why we were leaving.  I assured her the monkeys needed some family time and wanted us to come back later.  I am not looking forward to the day she looks at me and calls me for my BS…

 

Oh, one last thing, no pictures were taken, we didn’t want to offend the monkeys (okay, okay…we thought the monkeys might steal the camera).

 

Later that evening I went out with Maxine and a few of her friends to the Reggae bar.  After consuming several large Bintangs I still refused to get up and dance.  Maxine was none to impressed with me.  She, likes to dance and so did her friends.  Looking back I realize I probably looked more foolish sitting at the table by myself versus making an ass outta myself dancing.  Then again, I can picture myself dancing to reggae…probably made the wise choice.

 

Day 7 we walked down and found a typical ex-pat coffee shop called Mocha House.  I say typical because the price was inflated and all the customers were European.  Nothing special about the event, I went and visited the ATM for the first time.  Syd watched her Dora and Diego on the laptop and Tara read the paper as Sean played with his makeshift rattler.  All in all, a nice morning…

 

Lunch was made for us at Gandra’s – pumpkin tofu curry on a bed of steamed rice.  Different curry then we are used to at home – not as spicy or flavorful but still tasty.  The pumpkin tasted exactly like potato.  Maxine took me to the market after and we picked up a couple of shirts for Tara and I for $6 total.  After leaving we met Aussie’s who suggested we see the volcano on the island – something I think is a fantastic idea and we will plan on doing sometime this week.

 

We are now in the initial planning stages of our next to Thailand.  Should we be going to north Thailand first or head to the south for the Christmas season.  My sister is thinking of joining us for a few weeks as are our good friends Marc and Marie.  We think everyone is more inclined to see the south as that’s where the bulk of tourist activity takes place.  More research to be completed before the final decision is made…stay tuned.

Day Five

Day Five, November 17, 2008

Highlight of the day:

Knowing that Sean is feeling better

Rice fields

Swimming during the down pour of rain with the kids

Tea Time by the pool

Watching Sydney talk to the Gecko’s before her bedtime

Supermarket exploration

 

We made it past Monkey Forest Road today!  Thanks to Maxine (aka Gypsy—long time camp friend) we headed north for about one hour and had lunch at the Rice Field Restaurant.  We drove past many, many artist shops along the route.  Amazing trinkets and home décor stuff…hmmm now I know where Pier One might be gathering some of their stuff.  We didn’t buy anything …yet.

The rice fields are beautiful.  It is, however, a different game with kids.  We are all seeing things for the first time and while Rich and I take a moment to look at the amazing sights Sydney is on the ground looking at rocks, checking out the “huge” steps and commenting on the sounds.  This in itself is pretty “cool”.  We don’t linger long but we get a two for one bang out of this. 

It is hot and it is humid and we are oh so grateful for a pool. 

 

This morning we were up at the crack of dawn and heading to the market (local) where after some supermarket exploration I discovered that I am slightly getting ripped of.  But, where else does one go at 5:00 am with a two year old….

 

I am having a few “significant moments” as Theresa would say.  I spent at least one hour with my head lamp on giving my kids a foot massage and talking on our bed.  How cool …

I am also starting to feel the need for methodical planning and, for the first time in a long time, the idea of just taking a moment to really realize patience… that things just take time and it is what it is. . .

How cool… 

Sunday, November 16, 2008

Day four

Day Four

We found a great place to eat yesterday.  I had Nasi Goreng for $1.  For those unfamiliar with the local dish it’s spicy fried rice with veggies, chicken, and a fried egg.  Tara had curry chicken avocado for $3.  We are having our large meal at around 2 PM as the kids are hitting the sack by 4ish.  Tara went for an hour and a half massage last night while the kids were sleeping – cost 80,000 Rup - $10.  I’ll let her comment on how it went but lets just say she looked totally relaxed afterward.  I bought a new movie (Own the Night) for $1.75 from the local market and watched it on the apple. I think Tara was shown the location of a book store by Maxine that we can go to later today to pick up some books – better to read than watch TV all the time.  Although, I did see season 1-5 of the Sopranos for $6/season…hmmm.

 

We think Sydney is slowly getting her travel legs.  She slept from 4 PM until 5 AM last night without waking up.  Not so lucky with Sean.  He is waking up 2-3X/night.  The good news is his fever is down and his appetite is back.  After visiting the clinic on day 2 and obtaining some meds he is getting better.  The Doctor barely spoke a word of English and all meds were Indonesian – i.e. we couldn’t read a word on the label or the directions.  Before giving him anything Tara did some research on the Internet and spoke to anyone who was bilingual. The good news - He is returning to his old, easy going, always happy self.  He is a little trooper in every sense of the word…our little smiling Buddha in Asia.

 

Tara went to the supermarket today with Maxine – a 15-20 min taxi ride.  On the list were the necessities of traveling with kids – diapers, wipes, etc.  Also on the list were the necessities for parents – BEER, Beer, and beer.  The local quickie markets sell beer in Ubud for 19,000 Rup ($2.45) for a large bottle.  I’m hoping Tara can score large bottles at the big market for 10,000 Rupiahs. It ain’t easy being fiscally responsible all the time (some of you may refer to me being cheap…I, for the record, prefer my term).   

 

We are starting to see routine in our day that is good for the kids and for us.  This is not the type of travel Tara and I are used to.  No hiking up mountains, living for just today or not worrying about tomorrow.  This experience is all about making the kids comfortable and happy.  Once we accomplish this we can start to plan some excursions.  We are hoping by next week (Day 11) we will hire a taxi for the afternoon to show us around the island.  I’m hoping to see Gunung 

Day Three - Tara Update

“I don’t think we’re in Kansas anymore Toto’

I remember at camp we always use to say that it was the staff that grew the most in a summer experience. WELL…that has nothing compared to the learning that I am going to have about myself in the next six months!

Here are some lessons that I have learnt in only THREE days:

  1. Organization is going to become a way of life; not just the typical-pick-up-later Tara anymore….
  2. With two kids and one small villa the mantra of “everything has a place and everything in its place” runs through my mind every hour
  3. Waking up at 4:00 am every day is not such a bad thing…we have hit the local market three days in a row.  Sydney and I are getting good at being the only non-locals on site and bartering over bunches of bananas and lychees. 
  4. Going to bed at 4:00 might not be that bad either
  5. It is going to be the small stuff that creates the wonderment of this trip.  Looking at rocks in a sidewalk or fish in a pond or ants crawling up our bed. . . 

 

So, for those who may have thought that we would be touring everywhere...here is the news…we are getting acclimatized in every sense of the word (weather, money, family dynamics, individual new likes and not so much likes, culture).  We have yet to make it off of Monkey Forest Road (which is about 5 blocks long).  We now are just starting to learn  the priorities….good, cheap bottled water, popsicles for 25c., market bartering,  and benefits of swimming in the pool at least twice a day.  Rice paddies and temples can wait and the beach may be a distance third.  Yoga and meditation??? …damn, how about sleep?  Maybe, just maybe, tonight...

 

Thursday, November 13, 2008

And so it Begins

We are here - we made it - lots of tears and lots of milk...so...here is the story;

We drove to Vancouver from Penticton on Monday November 9th.  Stopped briefly for a McDonald's coffee and kids pack (sad, but true) arriving at approximately 1600 hrs at Lee's place.  My sister went above and beyond the call of duty to make us comfortable, cooking us a thai chicken dinner and making Sydney a special bed in the computer room.  I, as the last blog indicated, couldn't sleep and felt absolutely bagged the following morning.

After waking up and a brief mad scramble to get ready, we arrived at the airport and bid adieu to my sister who asked if we might want to consider staying longer the next pass.

Our plane was a 747 with Japan Airlines.  We knew, almost instantly, we packed to much for stowaway and carry on.  We were the last to get on the plane and the last to de-plane.  In between was filled with fantastic service (highly recommend flying with Japan Airlines) and more tears of exhaustion.  Syd slept for only a few hours of a 9.5 hour flight, Sean, on the other hand, slept in a bassinet for half the trip.  

We arrived in Narita at 3 pm local time.  EVERYONE was tired, hungry, and looking forward to a good sleep.  We stayed at the Holiday Inn and realized right away we were in a different land when room service could only offer powered milk.  Everything was massively overpriced.  Thank goodness we packed oatmeal, etc, for the kids.  

We took a taxi into the town of Narita the next morning after Syd woke up at 3 AM local time.  She was recharged and ready to go. We were not so fortunate.  However, she rules the roost. After fours hours of entertainment we took a taxi ($50 Canadian) and found the most beautiful Japanese temple.  The grounds were immaculate and everyone stared at Sydney, our little blond bombshell.  We ate some local cuisine from a quickie mart and found a new all time favourite - ready to go salmon or tuna rice wraps...Smarty...you would have loved these....  :)

We then departed Narita at 4 pm and both kids slept well on the plane as did Tara.  She grabbed an empty back row and slept for 3-4 hours.  I monitored the brood for any moments of insanity.  Believe it or not...nothing but well behaved kids...they certainly take after their mother...

We arrived at Densappar at 11 pm and the customs guy sold me 4 - 30 day visas for 1.35 million Rupiahs (as I later found out he over charged me by about 35,000 rupiahs - $9 extra - welcome to Bali).  We drove for another 30 minutes and experienced the mayhem of Bali highways; scooter vs taxi - rider beware.  At approximately 1230 AM we arrived at the Villa Rasa Sayang.  The room was not as described...stay tuned...it's only beginning...


Tuesday, November 11, 2008

Insomniac or anxious dad



I have fooled myself into thinking I would sleep well the night before the big departure but alas here I am at 0239 hours Pacific time writing away.  I wrote in the previous post a thank you to Lee who allowed us to sleep at her place in North Vancouver.  She has a wonderful condo overlooking the Ocean and a comfy king size bed.  Tara, is sleeping well...as is the brood.
Some thoughts that keep me awake follow...
I wanted to take this chance to thank my Grand ol Pappy, Opa, and Oma.  For the record, my folks looked after their granddaughter for several weeks as Tara packed the house in preparation for move date.  Sydney had a fantastic time being spoiled by Oma who couldn't get enough of her.  The little blond bombshell had her significantly wrapped around her tiny finger buy the time we left yesterday.  Oma held it together as we drove off into the valley towards the coast.  Sydney, and Sean, are lucky to have such kind souls watching over them.  Thank you Dad and Theresa very much for your support...

Monday, November 10, 2008

T minus 24 hours


We are in Vancouver at Lee's (thank you O'Riley) and less than 24 hours away.  My sister is taking care of us for the evening before the big trip.  She is sending us off with a belly of Thai chicken.  Our next post will be from Bali which will include an update on how the 2 flights over went.  We, yes, have bought a bottle of brandy for the trip over.  Not for the kids of course but for Tara and I  :)

Our life is enclosed in 3 bags.  Tara gave up more belongings than any women I know.  I, on the other hand, have my brandy.
See you next Spring Canada - Asia, git ready...

Thursday, November 6, 2008

Get ready kid--Your passport is your shelter...







Well, it's my turn for this attempt at posting on a blog. I can't believe that I am BLOGGING! This might just be one way of keeping it straight for the record (if need be). Here's the latest in our walk up to the starting line. We are leaving in five days--for the record-- and I am counting...I am counting and loosing sleep. We fly out on November 11 from Vancouver to arrive in Naraita, Japan for our 24 hour layover at the Holiday Inn (voted #1 by Trip Advisor-if you can believe that). Quite frankly, I don't care what it is voted or even how clean the beds are--I care about "Can I Sleep, is it even possible?"
I am relieved that we have a landing pad as we don't yet in Bali-Ubud. This may seem riduculous but it is proving harder to get a place by the week or month then we thought! If only SOMEONE would email us back or even pick up their phone.
We are also under pressure to pack the neccessities for our journey. In the past (as in pre-kids--P.K) this was easy. Now, I am not so sure. Gone are the days of having a beer with Karina, just throwing some stuff into a backpack with a few mesh baggies and going. The top priorites are infant tylenol (both kids are teething) and extra large diapers (syd the kid--hey we are working on it). The Balinese however have us beat as it seems that their little anak-anak's (children) are toilet trained a heck of a lot earlier then ours. I have also looked up UHT milk as that also seems to be the type of milk that we can find over there--all looks good on that front. I have had the quick 101 on UHT milk.
Although I haven't left Canadian soil yet I am missing my neighbourhood friends and their children. Sydney keeps asking, "where are the kids?" at the quiet playground in Naramata. She has also figured out how to punch an emotional button or two with me by her daily chant of "mommy, I am ready to go home"...ha...what home!? :) Get ready kid, your passport is your shelter and Bali is your playground!